.

Deely: Being a State Representative Means Tackling the Issues Here and in Harrisburg, Not Passing the Buck Down to Local Communities

In an Op-Ed, Kevin Deely says Simmons record benefits large corporations and increases government's role, hurts local communities.

When Rep. Justin Simmons ran for office two years ago, he pledged his allegiance to the Lehigh Valley Tea Party and its extreme right-wing agenda. By signing that pledge, he chose to adopt the priorities shared by only a small fraction of his constituents.  Instead of being an independent leader for us all, he kept his promises to a few of his Tea Party friends.

During his first term, he voted 95 percent of the time with his party’s majority leader Mike Turzai, and has stuck by the failures of Gov. Corbett.   Simmons does not like to talk about his voting record, fortunately, it speaks clearly for itself.

Simmons attempts to deflect attention from a record that clearly favors his special interest friends. He promised he would not vote to raise taxes, and he didn’t raise state taxes for our largest corporations like Shell Oil. In fact, he promised  $1.7 billion tax break instead of implementing a fair extraction tax. Pennsylvania’s “impact fee” is a fraction comparable to other states, like New York, Texas, and Virginia, Pennsylvania’s 1.2 percent. Every other state in fact benefits more responsibly from their natural resources.  Corbett and Simmons  could be getting local municipalities 10 times more revenue if they were working for us -- not the large corporations.

Simmons promised to lower taxes for middle-class families and seniors, but not one of the thousands I have spoken to have had their property taxes decrease.

Why has he not achieved real property tax relief?

Because he signed the Tea Party’s “No-Tax Pledge.”  That pledge benefits large corporations, which shifts the burden of funding for our schools and communities onto local municipalities.

Our local communities have been left to do his job instead. While the legislature may have  balanced the state budget on time, they did so on the backs of our children and our struggling seniors. That is why our property taxes have continued to skyrocket and our seniors have continued to lose their homes.

Though Simmons promised to limit the size of government and make Harrisburg more accountable to the people, he voted in favor of costly legislation that would give $200 million tax dollars to unaccountable Catholic schools, $20 million on a failed and ill-timed voter-ID law, kept $200 million in a legislative “rainy-day fund” and let charters be overpaid, costing us another $365 million tax dollars.  Simmons been fiscally unaccountable.  He supported laws that would have lodged politicians between a woman and her doctor and gut funding to general assistance, moves that left thousands of our most vulnerable citizens out in the cold. That, to me, does not sound like small government. On the contrary, the Simmons/Corbett agenda has increased the size of state government, made it more invasive than ever before, and left the future of our state’s public education system in a real, devastating pinch for which our taxes must compensate.

Harrisburg is out of control. Over the last two years, the legislature and Gov. Corbett have made their priorities clear, yet they have accomplished nothing. The rate of employment in the Lehigh Valley continues to drag at a sluggish pace, funding for education continues to dwindle, attacks on women's rights are becoming more frequent, funding for programs aimed at helping our seniors and the disabled are disappearing, and Pennsylvania remains among  the bottom 10 states in job creation.

We need a representative who will invest in our crumbling infrastructure, put Pennsylvanians back to work, restore education funding to give our children a brighter future, and reduce our property taxes to prevent even one more senior from losing his or her home.

We need a truly independent leader to work across party lines to protect the most vulnerable among us. Most importantly for the economic vitality of our commonwealth, we need a leader who will stand up to powerful industries that place profit before people, and make sure they pay their fair share in taxes.

Our families are too important to be ignored and our environment is too precious to be exploited.

I will be that leader and I’ll work hard to get Pennsylvania back on track.

Tanya Bryant November 05, 2012 at 05:23 PM
Beholden to special interests? Isn't that the pot calling the kettle black. In your endorsements on your website Sierra club praises you for putting a moratorium on fracking. How will we get money from the drillers if they can't drill? The teachers union praises you for promising to protect teacher pay, benefits, and pension. As the Express Times said they don't see how you will say no to them. Also why isn't your campaign finance report posted? What other radical groups have you gotten money from? What are you trying to hide?
Interested Observer November 05, 2012 at 05:51 PM
OK, let's compare records: Simmons: 1 - Got the drillers to pay when Gov. Rendell and his Dem House couldn't. 2 - Delivered more state tax dollars to basic education than ever before - after the loss of temporary stimulus money that Rendell used like it was permanent 3 - Closed a $4 Billion budget deficit left by the Dem Leaders paying for Deely's campaign 4 - Supports legislation to fix the broken pension system and save taxpayers tens of millions of dollars 5 - Personally refuses the taxpayer paid pensions and per diems 6 - Tax reform, tort reform and regulatory reform to help make PA competitive when it comes to attracting job creators 7 - Reform initiatives including forcing all House members to pay for a portion of their health insurance, reducing the size of the legislature, a new website so taxpayers can see how our money is spent, etc. 8 - passed state budgets on-time (something Rendell and Deely's Dem leaders couldn't do in 8 years), balanced and without tax increases when we can't afford them Deely's record: 1 - Helped for a massive teachers' union contract that caused big budget deficits and big property tax increases 2 - thrown out of a teachers' conference for allegedly smoking pot 3 - entire campaign paid for by special interest public unions who oppose pension reform, responsible budgeting, etc. 4 - takes the taxpayer paid pension and now wants another Yes, Kevin, let's compare the records. You lose.
Bob Thomas November 05, 2012 at 06:31 PM
Tanya, The Deely campaign filled out their Campaign finance reports by paper. This requires them to be entered manually out in Harrisburg. Adding this extra work insures that his financials won't be online until after the election. So another words voters will not know what other unsavory groups he has pledged his allegiance too until it is to late. He has a Facebook page, twitter account and can post on Patch but he can't post his finances electronically? What ever he is hiding must be really bad. This game he is playing is sleazy politics at its worst. Voters beware!
Tanya Bryant November 05, 2012 at 06:41 PM
Mr. Deely do the Easton taxpayers know they are paying you to campaign? Aren't you a teacher? How were you able to post this story at 12 noon? I am sure the school board will be interested in that. Funny, loses election and loses his job for using school district resources and time to run for said election. You are right Bob he is sleazy.
Crestor Januvia November 05, 2012 at 06:43 PM
Get lost Deely. We don't want any teacher union wonk in Harrisburg. Teacher Pensions need to be cut back... drastically. We don't need some chowder head union boss working (not) for us taxpayers.
Tom Williams November 05, 2012 at 06:49 PM
Interested Observer, you might not remember but Deely already provided truths to Simmons' lies before in an op-ed: http://uppersaucon.patch.com/articles/op-ed-kevin-deely-i-m-responding-to-simmons-lies Desperate lies for desperate people.
John Fox November 05, 2012 at 07:28 PM
Aww Kevin, no gold stars this time either! I guess I will have to give the stuff from the prize box to the good boys and girls. Someone said they would donate a glass vase to the prize box if you got enough gold stars, they said it was just for you. But it has a hole in it and they kept calling it a bong... Hate to break it to you Dooby Deely Property Taxes are raised by the out of control school boards, not the state. The state and school boards continue to throw more and more of my money at teacher pensions and salaries. The very same pensions and salaries that YOU fought to make ever more cushy; to add insult to injury we paid you to do it. We also paid to have substitute teachers for you when you were too busy trying to screw over tax payers even more then to do your job as a teacher. If you had your way every dime of tax money at every level of government would go to teacher contracts and the charter schools would all be shut down. This is what Deely's campaign slogan should be: Kevin Deely; protecting the teachers union from those greedy taxpayers who want to keep their money and homes since 2008.
Bob Thomas November 05, 2012 at 09:07 PM
Tom, Alleged Pot smoking Kevin Deely (cough, cough) never did answer why he was kicked out of an education conference for smoking pot in his room. www.kevindeely.com or why he took money from Norml? http://www.phillynorml.org/ No wonder he hasn't posted his financials on line.
Crestor Januvia November 05, 2012 at 09:11 PM
If he loses, he'll probably file a grievance... that's what teachers do when they don't get their way....
AssaultedbyBeyer November 05, 2012 at 10:42 PM
Tom "Karen Beyer" Williams. Would you do all of us a favor? When Simmons wins by 13-14 points (you can take it to the bank) will you please go away and move? Nobody buys your sham marriage and sham picture perfect family image anymore. You've been exposed. Don't forget, no one here cares about you or likes you. Now do us all a favor and go away. Far, far away.
Tanya Bryant November 06, 2012 at 12:51 AM
Wow can't believe deely took money from a group that wants to legalize marijuana. (NORML) Thought he cared about kids? What a fraud.
Tom Williams November 06, 2012 at 01:47 AM
You are sad people. Rather than debate issues, you choose to create fantasies and attack the man's family. If readers care to read your comments, it will be seen time, and time again, that when questions were proposed for serious discussion, many of you decided to deflect and even attack Deely's family. Kevin Deely has remained honorable and not sunk to your level. That is why I support Deely, and why he will win tomorrow's election. You will all see, that Simmons had been better off without your hateful propaganda.
Eileen Dunn November 06, 2012 at 01:47 AM
Tanya do you work for Justin?? or are you his girlfriend. You seem very full of facts and interested enough to be a name caller!!
Eileen Dunn November 06, 2012 at 02:04 AM
I am not a teacher. I find it interesting that the teachers pensions have become the issue that broke the budget all of these years. Why are the companies doing the fracking being given a pass on taxes?? Why when Justin ran against an African American in his last campaign did he say the man had an arrest record. The man did not have an arrest record, Justin acknowledged that fact but allowed the Republican Machine to continue to run the ads!! I had great hopes for Justin, but when he became part of the machine after one year he will never get my vote. He received a great education at Solehi and now he villifies the very teachers that gave him that education. When he wanted their votes they were not the villains! BTW you are all so worried about where his campaign finance and ask "what has he been up to" WHERE ARE ROMNEY'S TAX FORMS????? Notice I wasn't rude, I was respectful, more than I can say for some of you. Why do you get rude just because you disagree with someone on issues. Good luck to all tomorrow.
Tanya Bryant November 06, 2012 at 02:19 AM
Here is the website by the legalize Marijuana group supporting deely. http://www.phillynorml.org/ you can see for yourself that they are supporting him. Explains why he won't post his Campaign reports!
Tanya Bryant November 06, 2012 at 02:57 AM
Silly me being a woman that knows facts. I am sorry I know I should just be worrying about my vagina like the liberals say I should. Eileen don't you work as an Evil loan officer taking advantage of the poor in Allentown by giving them loans they can't afford? Seems a lite hypocritical attacking me with that kind of baggage.
Jennifer Moyer November 06, 2012 at 03:00 AM
Deely, bought lock, stock and barrel by the teachers union. Shouldn't a representative represent more than one special interest, at least two or three...
Bob Thomas November 06, 2012 at 03:10 AM
Desperate! Throwing the race card! Deely must be in big trouble. Just an FYI the south side is Hispanic not black. Eileen you know you are lying.
Jeremy November 06, 2012 at 03:58 AM
When did teachers pensions become a budget problem? http://www.poconorecord.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20100602/NEWS/6020343 http://articles.mcall.com/2012-03-10/opinion/mc-pa-state-pensions-explain-it-20120310_1_psers-state-employees-retirement-system-taxpayer-funded Ignorance is bliss. Shouldn't have to show ID at the polls you should just have to pass a simple common sense test. Guessing you wouldn't be able to vote.
Joe Sommers November 06, 2012 at 02:03 PM
Its bad enough Deely is a union hack but now a bonafide pothead ! The Democratic party deserves to get their ass kicked today .Deely and the Democrats are a joke!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »